## National Honor Society Inducts Nine New Members

## by Sage Binger, senior

Every year, Redfield High School invites a select group of juniors and seniors to apply for National Honor Society. National Honor Society is a program that strives to recognize the total student, one who excels in all areas of scholarship, leadership, service and character.

What it takes as an individual to be in NHS, is a 3.5 higher accumulative GPA. That means a student's GPA over time has to reach that requirement. Once students have submitted their applications, they are evaluated and rated by a faculty counsel on the remaining pillars of leadership, service, and character. Students are granted membership into NHS based off the

2014-2015 NHS members include: (front) Emma Gruenwald, Bryce Stephens, Julie Tebben, Kate Gillette, Elizabeth Hansen, Taylor Voegele, (middle) Madison Lammon, Ashlyn O'Daniel, Elizabeth Esser, Marlee Mack, Emily Harr, Emma Lutter, Leah Lunstrum, Zoe Cosato, (back) Jordanne Howe, Jake Baloun, Sarah Rozell, Caleb McNeil, Carter Klapperich and Brendan Roth

overall average from the faculty counsel evaluation ratings.

NHS performs two group service projects each semester. This semester they will do projects for Anti-bullying Week (October 6-10); NHS is one of the five groups participating. They are also having their annual "give to get" food drive in the first two weeks in November. Each member has to complete

twenty-five hours of community service per school year. And at least five of those hours have to come from mentoring/tutoring students.

Senior, NHS president, Marlee Mack said, "NHS is an honor and a great high school organization to be a part

of. NHS teaches students to be present and helpful in the school and community."

On September 30, NHS inducted nine new members: Kate Gillette, Elizabeth Hansen, Emily Harr, Carter Klapperich, Emma Lutter, Caleb McNeil, Sarah Rozell, Bryce Stephens and Julie Tebben. Current second-year members include Marlee Mack (President), Leah Lunstrum (Vice President), Jordanne Howe (Secretary), Billie Moeller, Ashlyn O'Daniel, Jake Baloun, Elizabeth Esser, Brendan Roth, Zoe Cosato, Taylor Voegele, Emma Gruenwald and Madison Lammon.

Mrs. Shannon Knuppe, NHS advisor, commented, "I'm really excited to work with this group of juniors and seniors. I think we have a great group of kids, and I look forward to seeing what they can do!"